Posted 1 year ago

By Post Staff

Election 2014 buttonThere will be at least two new members of the Chadron City Council and one new member of the Chadron School Board following the passing yesterday of the filing deadline for incumbents. Non-incumbents can file for office through March 3rd.

Levi Grant was the only one of the three Chadron council members up for election to file. Karin Fischer and Bill Barth did not, so they will leave when the new council is sworn in this December.

Sandy Roes, the longest serving current member of the Chadron School Board, and Tom Menke also filed for reelection while Dr Dave Johnson did not.

In Crawford, incumbent mayor Terry Haugen waited until almost the last minute to file…doing so less than two hours before the deadline to join newcomer Dave Nixon on the ballot. Incumbent North Ward councilman Ed Kuhnel had also filed earlier.

All 3 Crawford School Board incumbents with expiring terms filed for reelection…Marie Wohlers, Robert Oldfield, and Barry Stewart…and they’re joined by challenger James Wasserburger.

All 8 elected Dawes County official up for reelection this year had filed at least two weeks ago: Clerk Cheryl Feist, Assessor Roberta “Lindy” Coleman, Treasurer Barbara Sebesta, Sheriff Karl Dailey, County Attorney Vance Haug, Clerk of the District Court Court Sharon Harrison, and commissioners Stacy Swinney and Jake Stewart.

Only Stewart, who represents District #1, has drawn an opponent so far, Wayne Fisher. Fisher and all 8 incumbents are Republicans.