Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

Gov Youth Ag Committee

Gov. Dave Heineman and Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach have announced the selection of the members of the 2013-2014 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC), which includes 2011 Alliance High School graduate Alyssa Dye (2nd from left, middle row), the daughter of Bart and Kathy Dye of rural Alliance.

Miss Dye is a junior at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The council is comprised of college-aged students from throughout the state that exhibit and promote a passion for agriculture and educating others about the agricultural industry.

“It’s an exciting time to be involved in the agricultural industry, and each of these young adults has exhibited a passion for educating others about the importance of agriculture,” said Gov. Heineman. “These are the future leaders of our agricultural industry, and I am excited to see what these students accomplish during the upcoming year on the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council.”

The NAYC is entering its 43rd year with the installation of the new Council members. Throughout the year, the council coordinates several agricultural learning experiences for Nebraska youth including: visiting elementary classrooms to discuss where food comes from, taking urban youth to experience farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like and visiting with high school students from across the state. The primary focus of the NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five-day conference for current high school juniors and seniors.

This year’s council is comprised of 21 college-aged men and women. The 2013-2014 NAYC leaderships includes: Emma Likens, Swanton, Head Counselor; Will Miller, Culbertson, Head Counselor; Alyssa Dye, Alliance, President; Lauren Ibach, Sumner , Secretary; Samantha Schneider, Cozad, Vice President of the Communications and Social Media Committee; Trent Mastny, Howell, Vice President of the NAYI Improvement Committee; Michelle Dvoracek, Elba, Vice President of the Promotion Committee; Aksel Wiseman, Hershey, Vice President of the Sponsorship and Alumni Relations Committee; and Larissa Wach, Wauneta, Vice President of the Youth Outreach Committee.

Additional members are: Davis Behle, Kearney; Trevor DeVries, Fairfield; Johnny Ference, Ord; Steven Fish, Imperial; Hannah Gaebel, Ashland; Haley Harthoorn, Ainsworth; Jud Hoffschneider, Arlington; Toni Rasmussen, Albion; Elizabeth Rice, Murray; Railen Ripp, Kearney; Eric Wemhoff, Humphrey; and Morgan Zumpfe, Friend.

To learn more about the NAYC or NAYI, please visit the NAYI web page at or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.