Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

CSC CC 13 Chile PepperFAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Led by senior Ashley Riesen, the Chadron State College women’s cross country team finished in the upper half of the College Division at the prestigious Chile Pepper Festival at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville on Saturday.

A senior from Chadron, Riesen placed 20th among the more than 160 runners in the 5 kilometer races with a time of 19 minutes, 4.7 seconds to set the pace as the Eagles finished 11th among the 23 teams in the division.

Jayme Nunes, a sophomore from Alliance, had the second best time for the CSC women, finishing the race in 19:29.0, good for 38th place. Rebecca Volk, a sophomore from Central City, was 50th in 19:47.8 to place 50th.

In the men’s competition, Chadron State was 15th among the 21 teams. Sophomore Evans Koech, a native of Kenya, led the Eagles over the 8 kilometer course in 27:00.3 to place 57th in the college division.

Redshirt freshman Dylan Stansbury of Crawford was 68th for CSC in 27:21.4, followed by freshman Robert Ricks of Douglas, Wyo., who was 85th in 27:41.9.

Both of the College Division team titles were won by Augustana College of Sioux Falls, S.D.

Augustana’s Runa Falch was the women’s individual winner in 17:31.8, followed by Kelsey Bruce of Dallas Baptist in 17:53.1.

The men’s individual leader was Franklin Tonui of Iowa Central in 24:36.9.  Augustana’s Paul Yak was second in 24:44.4.

Besides the College Division, there was a University Division as well as huge races for high school students.

Next on the schedule for the Eagles is the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Championships at Western New Mexico in Silver City, N.M., on Oct. 26.

The Eagles’ complete placings and times follow:

Women—20, Ashley Riesen, 19:04.7; 38, Jayme Nunes, 19:29.0; 50, Rebecca Volf, 19:47.8; 93, Ashley Appelt, 20:46.7; 95, Nikky Applegarth, 20:50.7; 119, Sara Townsend, 21:27.5; 121, Callie Johnson, 21:32.1.

Men—57, Evan Koech, 27:00.3; 68, Dylan Stansbury, 27:21.4; 85, Robert Ricks, 27:41.9; 105, Cody Franklin, 28:11.2; 111, Simon Gudeta, 28:22.9; 113, Josef Gertner, 28:29.5; 124, Doug Harris, 29:34.1.