Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

Casey Beran - head 1Chadron State football All-American Casey Beran will be inducted tonight into the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame

Beran, who played for the Eagles from 1995 to 1999, was the first CSC player to earn both All-American and Academic All-American honors. He’ll be the 4th Eagle inducted into the RMAC Hall, following former coach Brad Smith, linebacker Kevin Homer, and tight end Joe Planansky.

A native of Sargent who played 8-man football in high school, Beran was a 3-time RMAC First-Team pick and the league’s 1999 Defensive Player of the Year. He was also named to the RMAC All-Century team in 2009 as one of the top 12 defensive players in RMAC history.Casey Beran -2

Now an orthopedic surgeon for Alegent Creighton Clinic in Omaha, Beran says that while he was “really excited” to learn of his selection to the RMAC Hall of Fame, he sees the honor as a tribute to how good the Eagles and coaches were when he played.

He says it isn’t an individual honor to him “because it makes me think of all l the great players I played with. They made what I did possible.”

Beran…whose younger brother Corey ended his CSC career a year ago with RMAC and All-American honors himself…was part of the first 3 Eagles teams to win or share the RMAC title and the first two that reached the NCAA D-II playoffs.

Casey Beran       As a senior, he was named a Football Gazette and USA Football First Team All-American and a Second-Team choice for the Daktronics and Associated Press Little All-American teams. He owned the CSC career record for most sacks when he graduated at 36.5, and also had 38 quarterback hurries and caused 7 fumbles.

Head coach Brad Smith…the league’s Century coach…put Beran to use on offense as well as defense, putting him at fullback in goal line situations where he scored 7 touchdowns as a junior and 4 as a senior.

Beran majored in human biology and graduated Magna Cum Laude in the spring of 1999, the same year he was Casey Beran - studentChadron State’s male RMAC scholar-athlete. He went on to attend the University of Nebraska Medical Center, where he graduated in 2004 and began his medical residency.

The only other football player entering the RMAC Hall this year is Colorado Mines quarterback Chad Friehauf…winner of the 2004 Harlan Hill Trophy as the best player in NCAA D-II and another member of the RMAC All-Century team.

Entering from Adams State is track star Brenda Jarvis-Eriksson…a three-time NAIA National Champion and 16-time All-American as a middle distance runner and hurdler between 1983 and 86.

Crystal Krebs is the first softball player and first  UC-Colorado Springs athlete to make the Hall. A 2-time All-American, 2-time RMAC  Player of the Year, and NCAA Division II Catcher of the Year in 2004, Krebs set a new NCAA Division II home run record with 25 in 48 games in 2005.

Metro State’s Mark Worthington was the NCAA D-II Player of the Year as a senior in 2005 and helped lead the Roadrunners to the national title as a part-time starter as a freshman. He played for his native Australia in the Beijing and London Olympics, and is currently playing professionally in Serbia.

Two former Adams State coaches are part of the Class of 2013. Frank Powell began the school’s wrestling program in 1961 while still an undergraduate and coached the team for 9 years…highlighted by back-to-back NAIA national titles in 1968 and 1969, teams that are already in the RMAC Hall.

Richard Ulrich followed Powell as the Adams State wrestling coach and led the program to the RMAC title all 9 of his years there and to a trio of NAIA national titles.

Rounding out the 2013 RMAC Hall honorees are three Adams State national championship teams: the 1990 wrestling team, which claimed the school’s 8th title in the sport, and the 1990 and 1992 men’s indoor track teams, the first RMAC teams to win NAIA titles in that sport.

The inductees were chosen by a committee of longtime RMAC or school officials and representatives including CSC’s Con Marshall and Brad Smith. The others are Patti Arnold, Eric Danner, Marv Kay, Todd Kelly, Joan McDermott, Sarah Meier, and Larry Mortensen.