Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

PREMA ImageALLIANCE – Seven area students will receive scholarship funds from Panhandle Rural Electric Membership Association and its power suppliers.

Ryan Reiber, General Manager of PREMA announced that Danielle Brennan, Lindsey Briggs and Alyssa Dye from Alliance; Megan Bradley from Chadron; Brady Horstman and Kaitlyn Jespersen from Hemingford; and Jessica Schwanebeck from Ellsworth, will receive scholarships from PREMA, Basin Electric Power Cooperative of North Dakota and Tri-State Generation and Transmission of Denver, Colorado.

Megan, the daughter of Vic and Kim Bradley, will be a sophomore at South Dakota School of Mines. She is studying Chemical Engineering and will receive $1,000 from Basin Electric Power Cooperative.

PREMA awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Lindsey Briggs and $500 each to Kaitlyn Jespersen and Jessica Schwanebeck. Lindsey is a Graduate Student at the University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy. She is the daughter of David and Gina Briggs. Kaitlyn, daughter of Ron and Barb Jespersen, will be a freshman in the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at the University of Wyoming, and Jessica, daughter of Derek and Lesa Schwanebeck, will be a freshman studying Pre Medicine at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln this Fall.

This year’s Tri-State Generation and Transmission Scholarships were awarded to Alyssa Dye and Brady Horstman, in the amount of $500 each. Alyssa, daughter of Bart and Kathy Dye, will be a junior at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln where she is studying Agricultural Education and Leadership. Brady, son of Rex and Kay Horstman will be a freshman studying Agri-Business at Northeast Community College in Norfolk. Danielle Brennan, daughter of Lance and Melissa Brennan, is the recipient of a $500 Chadron State College Foundation Scholarship sponsored by PREMA. She will be a freshman studying Criminal Justice.

The PREMA, Tri-State and Basin Scholarship winners were chosen at random from 19 qualified applicants. All entrants are dependents of PREMA members or PREMA employees. These scholarships are offered annually to students in PREMA’s service territory.