Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

Kelly Troester - 2Chadron State put 18 athletes on the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference men’s and women’s Indoor Track All-Academic teams. Leading the way for the Eagles was senior Kelly Troester, a men’s 1st-team choice.

To qualify for RMAC All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have a GPA of 3.30 or better, be a starter or reserve, and completed two consecutive semesters at their current institution.

Troester, a Crawford High School graduate from Marsland, Neb., has a 3.98 GPA in rangeland management, the highest GPA among the men’s All-Academic selection. Troester was the RMAC Summit Award winner for both indoor and outdoor track as having the highest GPA at the RMAC championships.

Two CSC men, both from Jamaica, made the 2nd team. They are Lanar Newman, a graduate student from Kingston who has a 3.55 GPA in business, and Gavan Archibald, a sophomore from St. Ann with a 3.64 GPA in business.

Two Chadron State women are second team selections. They are Cyndi Thomas, a junior from Omaha, who has a 3.95 GPA in family and consumer science and Kaelie Jelden, a senior from Eaton, Colo, who has a 3.88 GPA in education.

Chadron State had 7 men and 5 women earned honorable mention. The women’s selections include 4 Nebraskans…Liz Ellicott of Harrison, Alyssa Norton of Rushville, Jayme Nunes of Alliance, and Becca Volf of Wood River…and Meagan Nahrwold of Byers, Colo.

The men’s HM selection also include 4 from Nebraska…Alex Johnson of Kearney, Sean Munger of Imperial, Kyle McCarthy of Aurora, and Brandon Segelke of Sidney…along with 2 from Colorado…Mathew Mathiason of Pierce and Cody Roberts of Trinchera…and  Jacob Brunette of Pinedale, Wyo.,

Adams State’s Kristen McGlynn-Arendt is the Women’s All-Academic Athlete of the Year. Metro State’s Kirk Harvey is the Men’s All-Academic Athlete of the Year.