Posted 2 years ago

By Post Staff

Sandy Schaefer

Dr George “Sandy” Schaefer

Chadron State College music professor Dr George “Sandy” Schaefer is this year’s winner of the Nebraska State College System Teaching Excellence Award. Schaefer has taught at CSC since 1999.

The award has been presented annually since 1984 to one full-time faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching, service and leadership across the system of Chadron, Peru and Wayne State Colleges. It carries a $3,000 stipend and a medallion.Sandy Schaefer - 2

NSCS Chancellor Stan Carpenter says Schaefer embodies what the award represents because he cares about his students, believes they all students have the potential to do great things, and demonstrates a commitment to his craft with an innovative and creative teaching style that is a great asset to CSC and its students.

In a letter of recommendation for Schaefer’s nomination, fellow CSC music department professor Dr James Margetts calls him a “gifted musician, highly valued colleague, believer, visionary leader, and superior classroom teacher.”

In addition to his teaching duties, Schaefer has coached the CSC Show Band drum line, self-produced a series of instructional videos in basic percussion rudiments and held important regional and national offices with numerous professional organizations.

CSC Teaching Excellence nominees August Bruehlman, Sandy Schaefer and Patti Blundell

CSC Teaching Excellence nominees August Bruehlman, Sandy Schaefer and Patti Blundell

He was also was instrumental in procuring the school’s on-campus radio station and led the development of the music department’s music business option…which prepares students for careers in such varied aspects of the music industry as record companies, publications and promotions, and performance.

Schaefer is the eighth CSC professor to win the award and the second in as many years…following physical and life sciences professor Dr Mike Leite last year.

The other past winners were the late Dr. George Watson, justice studies, 1987; Dr. Lois Veath, physics, 1993; Dr. Charollene Coates, education, 1994; Dr. Patricia Cruzeiro, education, 1998; Dr. Barbara Limbach, business, 1999; and Dr. Robert Stack, mathematics, 2004.