Posted 3 years ago

By Post Staff

      The first Thursday of January is traditionally the day Nebraska county officials elected in November take the oath of office, but it’s not actually set in statute.

The Panhandle this year took full advantage of the flexibility allowed with at least one county conducting its swearing-in Wednesday and at least one doing it Friday.

Getting the jump on things Wednesday was Sioux County, which used an already-scheduled meeting of the board of commissioners to administer the oath to Commissioner Josh Skavdahl…the only county official elected last year.

Coming in later on Friday will be Dawes County, scheduling the oath for Commissioner Webb Johnson’s second term to coincide with another previously-scheduled board meeting. Public Defender Paul Wess, reelected to a third term, is tentatively slated to take the oath tomorrow afternoon.

Box Butte, Scotts Bluff and Sheridan counties all administered the oath Thursday morning. For Box Butte County, it was a new face joining the board of commissioners…Republican Doug Hashman of Berea, who defeated former commissioner Marv Toedli.

In Sheridan County, the only newly-elected official was county commissioner Dan Kling, while Scotts Bluff County had two commissioners take the oath….Ken Meyer and Steve Stratton. Meyer, Stratton, and Kling are all starting their third 4-year terms as county commissioners.