Posted 3 years ago

By Post Staff

All six of the U-S Senators from Nebraska, Wyoming, and South Dakota voted for the compromise avoiding the fiscal cliff while 3 of the 5 members of the House from the 3 states…all Republicans…did not.

Voting against the plan were Adrian Smith and Jeff Fortenberry of Nebraska and Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, while Kristi Noem of South Dakota and Nebraska’s Lee Terry voted for it.

The House vote was 257-167…with 85 Republicans and172 Democrats voting “yes” and 151 Republicans and 16 Democrats voting “no.”

The Senate vote was 89-8 with Republicans Mike Johanns of Nebraska, John Thune of South Dakota, and Mike Enzi and John Barrasso of Wyoming in the majority along with Democrats Ben Nelson of Nebraska and Tim Johnson of South Dakota.

Congressman Smith, in a post-vote statement, said an alternative must be found to the “arbitrary defense cuts” in the sequestration portion of the fiscal cliff, but that “simply delaying these difficult decisions without replacing the spending reductions is the wrong approach.”

Senator Mike Johanns saw things the opposite way, saying that although the deal wasn’t “ideal,” it protects 99% of Americans from being hit with the largest tax hike in the country’s history.